ACHCA Discontinues CNHA & CALA Exams and Revises Criteria for its Fellow Program

Nancy Leveille and Lisa Volk in Clinical & Quality

The American College of Health Care Administrators announced today that it is discontinuing its certification exams for assisted living (CALA) and nursing facility (CNHA) administrators. Individuals who previously earned those ACHCA credentials will be able to keep them and renew them. (Please note that ACHCA certification exams are voluntary and not the same as state mandated administrator licensure exams.) In addition, ACHCA has revised its criteria for earning points for the ACHCA Fellow designation (FACHCA). Administrators can now earn points if their buildings receive the AHCA/NCAL Bronze, Silver or Gold National Quality Award. 

For those states that signed AHCA/NCAL marketing partnership agreements for the ACHCA exams, the marketing partnership program will end given ACHCA’s announcement. In addition, there were no exam sales to AHCA/NCAL members in 2019 because ACHCA suspended exam registrations this year while it was deciding whether to continue the exam program. 

Attached is an article about the ACHCA changes that will run in the December 18 editions of AHCA’s and NCAL’s weekly e-newsletter blogs.


Nancy Leveille, RN, MS
Executive Director
518-462-4800 x20

Lisa Volk, RN, B.P.S., LNHA
Director, Clinical & Quality Services
518-462-4800 x15