NYSHFA/NYSCAL Congratulates New York’s Bronze Quality Award Winners

Rick Patterson

NYSHFA/NYSCAL is pleased to announce that 12 members were recognized with the 2019 Bronze - Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). The Bronze award is the first of three distinctions possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which honors long term and post-acute care providers that have demonstrated their commitment to improving the quality of care for seniors and individuals with disabilities. A total of 590 long term and post-acute care providers in 48 states were recognized with the Bronze award.

“The recipients of the Bronze award are making it their mission to deliver quality care for our nation’s elders and individuals with disabilities,” said Mark Parkinson, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL. “This year, we have more Bronze recipients than ever before, and I’m convinced that because of their commitment, our profession will continue to grow stronger and make a national impact.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the basis of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The Baldrige program helps organizations across different business sectors use strategies to improve performance and organizational effectiveness.

“I applaud this year’s Bronze recipients for taking this important step towards quality improvement,” said the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers Chair Alana Wolfe. “I encourage these providers to continue their path to achieve the highest of quality care.”

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they assess their organization’s mission, vision, and key factors that lead to success. They also develop an organizational profile and must demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained examiners review each application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Bronze recipients may move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the AHCA/NCAL Silver - Achievement in Quality Award.

The Association will announce the 2019 Silver - Achievement in Quality and Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients in the coming months. The 2019 National Quality Award Program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: First Quality, NRC Health, Team TSI Corporation, and MatrixCare. Recipient organizations will be honored during AHCA/NCAL’s 70th Convention & Expo, October 13-16, 2019 in Orlando, Florida.

Congratulations to all our Members!!!

Bishop Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Syracuse
BronxCare Special Care Center, Bronx
Chautauqua Nsg & Rehab Ctr, Dunkirk
Golden Hill Nsg & Rehab Center, Kingston
Hudson Park Rehab & Nsg Ctr, Albany
Norwich Rehab & Nsg Ctr, Norwich
Sunrise at Mill Basin, Brooklyn
Sunrise of New City, New City
Sunrise of Staten Island, Staten Island
Susquehanna Nsg & Rehab Ctr LLC, Johnson City
Washington Center, Argyle
Willow Gardens, New Rochelle


Rick Patterson
Sr. Director, Business Development
518-462-4800 ext. 19