2019 Employee Recognition Program

The Clinical and Quality Services Committee is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the annual Employee Recognition Program. The goal of this program is to honor exemplary employees working in skilled nursing facilities.

This year, the program has been expanded to include a new Non-nursing Manager of the Year award. A non-nursing manager is defined as someone who has the authority to direct staff in all aspects of their job, who can help set policy and interpret governmental guidelines. The manager reports directly to the Administrator or CEO/COO and may either be a salaried or hourly employee.  Nominees in this category will actively demonstrate their dedication to residents and employees.

The five award categories are broken down as follows:  Nursing Awards:  Registered Nurse of the Year, Licensed Practical Nurse of the Year, and Certified Nursing Assistant of the Year.  Non-Nursing Awards:  Manager of the Year and Heart and Hands Award (for non-managerial staff).

Attached are the Employee Recognition Program Brochure and Guidelines for Preparing Applications.

The Clinical and Quality Services Committee will be accepting nominations for the Employee Recognition Program until December 7, 2018.  

Recipients of the awards will be honored at the Awards Ceremony during the NYSHFA/NYSCAL Annual Conference, May 6 – 9, 2019 at the Turning Stone Resort & Casino in Verona, NY.

If you have any questions, contact Joanne O’Connor at NYSHFA/NYSCAL.


Lisa Volk, RN, B.P.S., LNHA
Director, Clinical & Quality Services
518-462-4800 x15

Joanne O'Connor
Communications & Business Development Coordinator
518-462-4800 ext. 23