2017 AHCA/NCAL Silver National Quality Award Recipients Announced

Rick Patterson

AHCA/NCAL has announced the recipients of the 2017 Silver - Achievement in Quality Award. This year, 191 skilled nursing care centers and assisted living communities in 43 states earned the Silver Award, sponsored by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL).  A total of seven NYSHFA/NYSCAL members received the award.

The award is the second of three distinctions possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which recognizes providers across the nation that have demonstrated their commitment to improving quality of care for residents and patients in long term and post-acute care centers and communities.

“Silver award recipients are champions of performance excellence and quality health care outcomes,” said AHCA/NCAL President and CEO Mark Parkinson. “I commend their dedication to delivering solutions for quality care to the populations we serve.”

Based on the core values and criteria of the nationally recognized Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative, the Association’s Quality Award program challenges member providers to achieve performance excellence through three progressive levels—Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Members at the Silver award level develop and demonstrate effective approaches that help improve performance and quality outcomes.

“I am honored to recognize those who have achieved this year’s Silver distinction,” said Alana Wolfe, Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers. “These organizations have done an outstanding job adhering to the rigorous demands of the Baldrige criteria and have demonstrated an effective approach to improving quality performance.”

This year’s Silver recipients can now advance in developing approaches that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award. On June 1, the Association announced the honorees of the Bronze - Commitment to Quality Award. Gold award recipients will be announced later this summer.

The program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: First Quality, National Research Corporation, and Team TSI Corporation. The awards will be presented to recipients during AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention & Expo in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 15-18, 2017.

Congratulations to all our Members!!!

Alpine Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Little Falls
Carillon Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Huntington
Elderwood at Waverly, Waverly
Kingsway Manor Assisted Living, Schenectady
Middletown Park Rehabilitation & HCC, Middletown
Somers Manor Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Somers
Sunrise of Holbrook, Holbrook