NYSHFA / NYSCAL Congratulates New York’s Bronze Quality Award Winners

Rick Patterson

AHCA/NCAL has announced the recipients of the 2017 Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award. This year 520 long term and post-acute care providers in 46 states achieved the Bronze Award, sponsored by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL).  A total of six NYSHFA/NYSCAL members received the award. The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which honors long term and post-acute care providers that have demonstrated their commitment to improving the quality of care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

“Bronze award recipients advance our mission of improving lives by delivering solutions for quality care,” said Mark Parkinson, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL. “We applaud their efforts to enrich the lives of those in the long term and post-acute care communities we serve.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The Baldrige program helps organizations in different business sectors improve and achieve performance excellence.

The award program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with fundamental performance elements such as vision and mission statements and key strengths and challenges. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Recipients may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver - Achievement in Quality Award.

“We congratulate this year’s Bronze award recipients and look forward to offering continued support and guidance on their journey to improve quality care,” said AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers Chair Alana Wolfe. “The dedication and focus on quality that each organization has shown garners recognition. It will serve their patients and residents well.”

AHCA/NCAL will announce the 2017 Silver - Achievement in Quality and Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients in the coming months. The National Quality Award Program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: First Quality, National Research Corporation, and Team TSI Corporation. The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention and Exposition in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 15-18, 2017.

Congratulations to all our Members!!!

Dominican Village, Amityville, NY
Sunrise of Fleetwood, Mount Vernon, NY
Tarrytown Hall Care Center, Tarrytown, NY
The Emerald Peek Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Peekskill, NY
Wingate at Beacon, Beacon, NY
Wingate at Dutchess, Fishkill, NY



Rick Patterson
Sr. Director, Business Development
518-462-4800 ext. 19