2017 Durante/Stafford Nursing Scholarship Award Recipients Announced

Nancy Leveille and Rick Patterson

The Foundation for Quality Care and NYSHFA/NYSCAL's Nurse Leadership Advisory Committee are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 James D. Durante/Ruth E. Stafford Nursing Scholarship Program.

This Scholarship Fund Program was established to provide financial support to incumbent employees of NYSHFA/NYSCAL member facilities who are also nursing students pursuing careers in long term care.

Two (2) scholarships for $2,000 each will be awarded to Skilled Nursing Category I LPN and RN students; two (2) scholarships for $2,000 each will be awarded to Skilled Nursing Category II Advanced RN students; and one (1) scholarship for $2,000 will be awarded to the Assisted Living student.

The winners will be recognized on May 4, 2017 at the NYSHFA/NYSCAL Annual Nurse Leadership Conference at Turning Stone Casino, Verona, NY.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients, who are as follows:

Skilled Nursing Category I - $2000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipients
Jamel Doret, Bainbridge Nursing & Rehab Center, Bronx, NY, District 11
Angela Jones, Highland Park Rehab & Nursing Ctr, Wellsville, NY, District 9

Skilled Nursing Category II - $2000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipients
Linda Quackenbush, Medina Memorial Hospital SNF, Medina, NY, District 10
Laura Robinson, Ten Broeck Commons, Lake Katrine, NY, District 4

Assisted Living - $2000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipient
Jade Sprauer, Hedgewood Home for Adults, Beacon, NY, District 4

We received many excellent candidates this year and want to thank and acknowledge all who participated in the process. If you have questions regarding this program contact Rick Patterson or Nancy Leveille at the Foundation.

FQC Contacts
Nancy Leveille, RN, MS
Sr. Director, Member Operational Support
518-462-4800 x20

Rick Patterson
Executive Director, Foundation for Quality Care
518-462-4800 x19

Shelley Wagar
Executive Director, NYSCAL
518-462-4800 x17