2016 Nursing Scholarship Program Accepting Applications

Nancy Leveille and Rick Patterson in Foundation for Quality Care News

Once again we are pleased to announce the Foundation for Quality Care Nursing Scholarship Program. The Foundation for Quality Care, the research and education affiliate of the New York State Health Facilities Association (NYSHFA), will administer the Ruth E. Stafford and James D. Durante Nursing Scholarship Program for 2016. This Scholarship Fund Program has been established to provide financial support to incumbent employees of NYSHFA member facilities who are also nursing students pursuing careers in long term care. The Durante/Stafford Scholarships will now be awarded to students/nurses in two categories:

Category I:  Students pursuing licenses as a practical nurse or registered nurse.  Three scholarships for $2,000 each are available for the Category I Scholarship.

Category II:  Registered nurses pursuing advanced degrees in nursing (Bachelors, Masters, Doctorate, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Specialist).  Two scholarships for $2,000 each are available for the Category II Scholarship.

The winners will be selected by NYSHFA’s Nurse Leadership Advisory Committee and awarded their Scholarship at the Annual Nurse Leadership Conference on May 5, 2016 in Verona, New York.

Scholarship Criteria and Submission Information:

Attached is the Scholarship Application Packet. At the time of application, and when the scholarships are awarded, applicants must be employed by a long term care facility that is a member in good standing of the New York State Health Facilities Association. Applicants must be applying to or enrolled in / accepted to an accredited school of nursing program for the 2016-2017 academic year.

 Applications are due by Friday, February 12, 2016.

FQC Contacts
Nancy Leveille, RN, MS
Sr. Director, Member Operational Support
518-462-4800 x20

Rick Patterson
Executive Director
518-462-4800 x19