2015 Durante/Stafford Nursing Scholarship Award Recipients Announced

Nancy Leveille and Rick Patterson in Foundation for Quality Care News

The Foundation for Quality Care and NYSHFA’s Nurse Leadership Advisory Committee are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 James D. Durante/Ruth E. Stafford Nursing Scholarship Program.

This Scholarship Fund Program was established to provide financial support to incumbent employees of NYSHFA member facilities who are also nursing students pursuing careers in long term care. Three (3) Category I scholarships are being awarded to students pursuing licenses as a practical or a registered nurse and two (2) Category II scholarships are being awarded to registered nurses pursuing advanced degrees in nursing.

The winners will be recognized on April 23, 2015 at the NYSHFA/NYSCAL Annual Nurse Leadership Conference at Turning Stone Casino, Verona, NY.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients, who are as follows:

Category I:  $2,000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipients

Courtney Ilnicki
ElderWood at Waverly
Waverly, NY
District 08

Eva Melara
Flushing Manor Nursing and Rehab Inc.
Flushing, NY
District 12

Jessica Rice
Kingsway Arms Nursing Center Inc.
Schenectady, NY
District 05

Category II:  $2,000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipients

Rene Babis
Newfane Rehab. & Health Care Center
Newfane, NY
District 10

Darra Hotopp
Riverside Center for Rehab & Nursing
Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
District 05

We received many excellent candidates this year and want to thank and acknowledge all who participated in the process. If you have questions regarding this program contact Rick Patterson or Nancy Leveille at the Foundation.

FQC Contacts
Nancy Leveille, RN, MS
Sr. Director, Member Operational Support
518-462-4800 x20

Rick Patterson
Executive Director
518-462-4800 x19