2014 Durante/Stafford Nursing Scholarship Award Recipients Announced

Nancy Leveille and Rick Patterson in Foundation for Quality Care News

The Foundation for Quality Care and NYSHFA’s Nurse Leadership Advisory Committee are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 James D. Durante/Ruth E. Stafford Nursing Scholarship Program.

This Scholarship Fund Program was established to provide financial support to incumbent employees of NYSHFA member facilities who are also nursing students pursuing careers in long term care. Four (4) Category I scholarships are being awarded to students pursuing licenses as a practical nurse or registered nurse and registered nurses pursuing advanced degrees in nursing; and two (2) Category II scholarships are being awarded to registered nurses pursuing a certification course in gero prep and wound care management.

The winners will be recognized on April 24, 2014 at the NYSHFA/NYSCAL Annual Nurse Leadership Conference at Turning Stone Casino, Verona, NY.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients, who are as follows:

Category I:  $2000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipients

Rene Babis
Newfane Rehab. & Health Care Center
Newfane, NY
District 10

Amy Corwin
The Maplewood Nursing & Rehabilitation
Webster, NY
District 9

Lindsay Karek
ElderWood at Cheektowaga
Cheektowaga, NY
District 10

Maria Rock
Kingsway Arms Nursing Center Inc.
Schenectady, NY
District 5

Category II:  $1000 Durante/Stafford Scholarship Recipients

Janet Morgan
The Pines at Poughkeepsie Center
Poughkeepsie, NY
District 4

Anna Szopa
Sunshine Children’s Home and Rehab Center
Ossining, NY
District 3

We received many excellent candidates this year and want to thank and acknowledge all who participated in the process. If you have questions regarding this program contact Rick Patterson or Nancy Leveille at the Foundation.


 FQC CONTACTS: Nancy Leveille, RN, MS
Sr. Director, Member Operational Support
518-462-4800 x20
  Rick Patterson
Executive Director
518-462-4800 x19