DOH Announces Changes in Leadership

Nancy Leveille and Karen Morris in Clinical & Quality

Valerie Deetz is the new Director of the Division of ACF & Assisted Living Surveillance, replacing retired Mary Hart. In addition, she also works as the Director of the Community Transitions Program since January.  Ms. Deetz is a Registered Nurse and licensed NH administrator who has served in various capacities with the DOH, most recently as the Deputy Director, Residential Services.  Ms. Deetz is well known to NYSHFA through her nursing home work and we look forward to continuing our relationship in her new role.

Shelly Glock is the new Deputy Director, Division of Nursing Homes and ICF/IID Surveillance, NYSDOH.  Ms. Glock is a LNHA and brings a variety of experience with her to this position.  Most recently she held the position of Quality Improvement Specialist with IPRO’s Care Transitions project team under the CMS 10th Scope of Work.  She was responsible for the design, implementation and evaluation of community care transition initiatives to decrease unnecessary hospitalizations and improve the experience of Medicare beneficiaries and caregivers as they transition across health care settings.

Prior to joining IPRO in 2010, Ms. Glock’s career includes various positions in skilled nursing facility administration, public health consulting with local health departments and project management involving collaborative partnerships with consumers, health care providers and government agencies interested in initiatives to improve the delivery of health services.

She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Health Administration from The State University of New York Institute of Technology and a Masters in Business Administration from The University of Albany School of Business.  She currently holds an active license as a New York State Nursing Home Administrator and a professional certification in Health Care Quality Improvement.



Nancy Leveille, RN, MS
Sr. Director, Member Operational Support
518-462-4800 x20
  Karen Morris, RN, MS
Director, Clinical & Quality Services
518-462-4800 x15